As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Know more.

The world is made of energy and so is your body. Long before science and technology, antique traditions knew that every living thing has a life force. This life force is known as the 7 chakras. So what exactly is a chakra? Chakra is a vortex or wheel of energy found in the body. It is because the life force, which moves inside you, rotates and spins. Consequently, this spinning force has seven centers in the body, beginning at the bottom of the spine.

In addition, the 7 chakras in a healthy individual offer the precise amount of energy to all parts of the body, spirit, and mind. Each chakra has a unique psychological, physical, emotional, energetic, and spiritual characteristic.

Also, each chakra is linked with rainbow colors, making our lives colorful. They add a excitement and meaning to our lives, so we can understand our environment. Indeed, the body is full of wisdom, thus if you dive into this ancient system, you can live a life a filled with maximum vitality.

7 chakras

7 chakras and their meanings

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Color: Red

Location: At the bottom of the coccyx It is associated with our main survival needs and how our physical bodies connect with nature.

If the root chakra is balanced, we feel safe, stable, grounded, and supported.

Further reading: Root Chakra Meaning


  1. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Color: orange

Location: Below the navel and the pubic bone.

The sacral chakra is where our sense of self is. At this active center, we feel joy and desire. Through this, we can do what we love and go with the flow of life.

Further reading: Sacral Chakra Guide: Meaning, Properties, Balancing


  1. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Color: orange

Location: at the center of the navel.

The 3rd chakra is the home of our motivation, ability, will to reveal our deepest desires. It manages how we change nourishment into energy for the body.

Further reading: Solar Plexus Chakra Guide: Meaning, Properties, Balancing


  1. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Color: green

Location: the center of the chest, which controls our lungs, heart, and arms.

The Anahata chakra translates to “unhurt.” The chakra empowers your compassion, love, and kindness. We all connect our hearts with kindness and love. It includes love for yourself and others that is why this chakra is linked with healing and health.

Further reading: Heart Chakra Guide: Meaning, Properties, Balancing


  1. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Color: blue

Location: the base of the throat.

The Vishuddha means “very pure.” the chakra offers a voice to your truths with clarity. On a physical level, your voice comes from your throat. On an energetic level, it comes from the 5th chakra. Lying above the heart, the Vishuddha is connected to the love and compassion you have for others and yourself.

Further reading: Throat Chakra Guide: Meaning, Properties, Balancing


  1. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Color: Indigo

Location: Between the eyebrows and it controls your lower brain, pituitary gland, skull, and eyes.

The chakra is associated with your wisdom intuition, intellect, understanding knowledge, and imagination. A 6th sixth chakra may experience moments of insight or lucid. Also, it opens up your mind to things beyond the physical world and the five senses.

Further reading: Third Eye Chakra Guide: Meaning, Properties, Balancing


  1. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Color: White

Location: It rests on the top of the head.

The crown chakra links us to God, a Devine source, or universal consciousness. Also, this chakra makes us feel a flow of energy and links us to different beings in the world.

Further reading: Crown Chakra Guide: Meaning, Properties, Balancing


7 chakras

More articles about chakra you may interest:

How do you know if your chakra is open or blocked

How to Balance your Chakras?

6 Misunderstanding about Chakra Healing

Do Chakra Bracelets Work?

How To Select Right Chakra Stones for Yourself?

How to Do Meditation with Crystals for Beginners?